Selected plates

  • Entire book
BLAKE, William.
Facsimiles of what is believed to be the last replica of the songs of innocence and of experience executed by William Blake. with an introduction by edwin J. ELLIS
London: Quaritch, 1893.
Large 4to, half morocco and cloth; spine lettered in gilt; Rubbed spot on lower board; leather consolidated and waxed. Condition is about fine. One of 50 hand colored copies, heightened in gold, this is #14. Sigmed by Edwin John Ellis. Fifty four leaves, each with a color illustration. Chocolate coloured endpapers.

Coloured plates in order:

1. Title page.
2. Frontispiece.
3. Title page to Part 1.
4. Introduction.
5. The Shepherd.
6-7. The Echoing Green.
8. The Lamb.
9-10. The Little Black Boy.
11. The Blossom.
12. The Chimney Sweeper.
13. The Little Boy Lost.
14. The Little Boy Found.
15. Laughing Song.
16-17. A Cradle Song.
18. The Divine Image.
19. Holy Thursday.
20-21. Night.
22-23. Spring.
24. Nurse's Song.
25. Infant Joy.
26. A Dream.
27. On Another's Sorrow.
28. Frontispiece to Part 2.
29. Title page to Part 2.
30. Introduction.
31. Earth's Answer.
32. The Clod and the Peeble.
33. Holy Thursday.
34-35. The Little Girl Lost.
35-36. The Litle Girl Found.
37. The Chimney Sweeper.
38. Nurse's Song.
39. The Sick Rose.
40. The Fly.
41. The Angel.
42. The Tyger.
43. My Pretty Rose Tree / Ah! Sun Flower / The Lilly.
44. The Garden of Love.
45. The Litle Vagabond.
46. London.
47. The Human Abstract.
48. Infant Sorrow.
49. A Poison Tree.
50. A Little Boy Lost.
51. A Liitle Girl Lost.
52. To Tirzah.
53. The Schoolboy.
54. The Voice of the Ancient Bard.
Hand coloured plates
Chromolithographs, Literature
Stock ID